The Kill Order (Maze Runner -1) | James Dashner | YA | Book Review |

 THE KILL ORDER
(MAZE RUNNER PREQUEL)

james-dashner-the-kill-order| by James Dashner |

| Kindle edition |

| YA | Dystopia | Thriller |

| 331 pages |
| Released  7th January 2013 |

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

 

 

 


Before WICKED was formed, before the Glade was built, before Thomas entered the Maze, sun flares hit the earth and mankind fell to disease.

Mark and Trina were there when it happened, and they survived. But surviving the sun flares was easy compared to what came next.

Now a disease of rage and lunacy races across the eastern United States, and there’s something suspicious about its origin. Worse yet, it’s mutating, and all evidence suggests that it will bring humanity to its knees.

Mark and Trina are convinced there’s a way to save those left living from descending into madness. And they’re determined to find it—if they can stay alive. Because in this new, devastated world, every life has a price. And to some, you’re worth more dead than alive. – GOODREADS


The prequel to the Maze Runner is another thriller. We get to explore the back-story about what happened all those years before the Maze. The destruction, the death, the Flare. There are new characters to get to know, and only a very subtle link to those that we all know in the Maze.

The underlying plot centers around two main characters. One, a young guy having to step up in a world that’s gone crazy, and the other, seasoned by a military past. It’s an unlikely duo, but they have a strong bond that has been borne from shared tragedy. There are plenty of desperate times when they both need to make some very hard choices.

I’ve read a lot of dystopian books over the years, they deal with destroyed societies, oppressive governments, dreadful disease, and violence fuelled by desperation. But for some reason this one seemed to click, making me really think about how I would cope if something as extreme as the Flare ever occurred.

The loss of security, the loss of every comfort I take for granted, the loss of family and friends, the loss of knowing that there is always food and water whenever it’s needed. It really did hit me, and I don’t know why this book made that happen. Perhaps it was because much of it was in an urban setting. A place that is so relatable. Walking through the chaotic streets, seeing the crumbling lifestyle in the midst of the ruins of what once provided the security that everyone needed, the loss of that place called home.

Dashner captures the extremes. The nightmarish battles between survival and mistrust, and the final threads of human logic that linger in the shadows of crumbling minds. For me, The Kill Order made me really think about how fragile our society is, and about how easily this could happen – more likely by our own wars and conflict than by a natural event. Once we lose our health, our safety and our compassion, everything crumbles.


A lesson on the fragility of society, and a window into the events before the Maze. A gripping read.

> Please click here to see my Review Policy <

Click the covers below to see my reviews of the Maze Runner series.

 james-dashner-the-kill-order    The Maze Runner    The Scorch Trials    The Death Cure


Click the book cover to LOOK INSIDE for a sneak peek
Click the book cover to LOOK INSIDE for a sneak peek

Want to know more?
 Click below to check out James Dashner’s great website.

 James Dashner

Here is the trailer for The Scorch Trials from 2015.

Here is The Maze Runner movie trailer from 2014.


Make sure that you FOLLOW MY BLOG to keep updated on when my new book, Subway | Palliatopia will be released.  It’s a perfect read for fans of The Hunger Games, The Maze Runner and The 5th Wave.

SW1 BLURB FOR SITE


 

Advertisements

I'd love to hear your thoughts about my post ... seriously!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s