Arc of Blood (Arkane 3) | J.F. Penn | Thriller | Book Review

Reviewed by S.W.Lothian Book on Shelf

ARC OF BLOOD | J.F. Penn
Kindle edition | Action | Thriller | 256 pages
Released 16 April 2015


JFPenn - Arkane 3 - Ark of BloodA desperate race to find the Ark of the Covenant – and save the world from a devastating Holy War.

Cairo, Egypt. When the curator of the Museum of Antiquities is slaughtered in a horrific ritual by a group wearing the masks of Ancient Egyptian deities, local authorities ask for help from ARKANE, the agency tasked with investigating religious and paranormal events. Then, in Washington DC, a decapitated Arab body is discovered. The head is placed on the replica Ark of the Covenant along with a chilling message that warns of a terrifying escalation of violence in the Middle East.

ARKANE agent, British-Israeli psychologist Dr. Morgan Sierra, must race against time to uncover the real Ark – aware that her nemesis, the vicious mercenary Natasha, is also in the hunt and out for bloody revenge. Morgan travels across Egypt and Jordan, retracing the steps of the Biblical Exodus and following a trail of clues that takes her into the mists of history – and mortal danger…

The third novel in the bestselling ARKANE series, EXODUS is a pulse-pounding thriller for fans of Dan Brown and James Rollins. Filled with puzzles, adventure, and excitement, it also asks serious questions about the nature of religion…and the beliefs that lie at the very heart of humankind. – GOODREADS


Blog Heading - My Review.png

This is the third book in J.F. Penn’s, Arkane series. I really enjoyed books 1 and 2 and it was a no-brainer that I would continue the series. As you may have already deduced from the title, this one centres around a search for the sacred Ark of the Covenant. There are competing sides who want to find and use the ark to fracture the fragile peace at the most sacred religious site in Israel.

Our heroine Arkane Agent, Morgan Sierra, is on the case and doing all she can to avoid a catastrophe. Although still recovering from injuries sustained in book 2, this time she’s on her own and fuelled by revenge, while her partner, Jake, remains in a coma in hospital. Ark of Blood (formerly Exodus) has everything that you would expect from an action thriller. Intrigue. Action. Suspense. Rivalry. Revenge. Heroes. Villains. etc.

As usual, Penn has a thorough understanding of her subject matter (religious artifacts etc.) and her wealth of knowledge is obvious. She is great at tying all of its complexities into an engaging, balanced, and addictive plot. Upon reflection, I’d have to say that there were lulls in the plot at times, but nothing that would deter me from staying onboard. However, I was concerned at one point where I thought things were wrapping up, but I kept reading and was pleased that my unanswered questions were resolved. – Makes a good reader, patience does –

One thing that is so memorable about this series is the villain, Natasha. She is a very nasty character without any conscience or humanity. Some of her actions are over-the-top and downright psychotic and creepy. How she will turn out as the series progresses is anyone’s guess, but I’m sure she won’t be selling Girl Guide cookies door-to-door.


Blog Heading - In a Nutshell.png

This is another thrilling ride in the Arkane series. Morgan Sierra continues to show us what she’s made of when things get tough. I didn’t enjoy this one as much and the first two books, but I still class it as a great read.

Recommended for fans of thrilling-intriguing-action-filled-plots-with-danger-and-heroes-battling-villains. The Arkane series is now up to 9 books – I have some catching up to do.

> Please click here to see my Review Policy <

Click or tap the cover below to read chapter one.


SWP Now Available   SWP Blurb

Advertisements

I'd love to hear your thoughts about my post ... seriously!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s