The Titan’s Curse (Percy Jackson #3) | Rick Riordan | YA | Book Review


The Titan’s Curse (Percy Jackson #3)

| by Rick Riordan | Kindle Edition | Purchased from Amazon |

pj-the_titans_curse


It’s the last Friday before the winter holidays but Percy Jackson isn’t at school: he’s battling the fearsome Manticore (half human, half lion), which in itself isn’t ideal . . . but with Annabeth missing and the goddess of the hunt held captive, things get a whole lot more serious . . .

Greek mythology relocated to modern-day America. Action-packed, funny, accessible writing for both boys and girls aged 10+. Perfect for fans of Harry Potter and Artemis Fowl.


My Review

This was a great book; I enjoyed this one more than Sea of Monsters. As usual, I’ll try not to include any spoilers in my comments. This book has been reviewed a bazillion times so I’m sure that anyone reading this will have read plenty of other reviews already.Percy finds himself caught up in another adventure to save the day.

Along with some old and new characters, they are continually challenged by enemies that want to see them fail. The tension between some of the main characters is also another interesting layer in the plot.  We see these relationships evolve and grow as the story progresses. This book essentially revolves around a road trip across great distances (with many varied modes of transport) to save others who have been captured and held against their will.

Along with some old and new characters, they are continually challenged by enemies that want to see them fail. The tension between some of the main characters is also another interesting layer in the plot.  We see these relationships evolve and grow as the story progresses. This book essentially revolves around a road trip across great distances (with many varied modes of transport) to save others who have been captured and held against their will.

Rick Riordan’s clever knack of plotting his stories and characters in modern-day settings with modern-day traits continues in this book.  To me, this style creates an extra dimension to the world I know and can relate to, without me having to visualise a totally new world. There are many sub-plot threads laced through the story, which will no doubt lead into the next books in the series quite nicely.


In a Nutshell

I recommend this book to Percy Jackson fans, although, I’m sure that they have already made their mind up to read it anyway (or no doubt read it already).  Those who aren’t familiar with Percy Jackson, I suggest you start at book one (The Lightning Thief) and progress through the series.

> Please click here to see my Review Policy <


Click the covers to see my reviews of other Rick Riordan books:

The Titan's Curse (Percy Jackson & The Olympians #3) The Battle of the Labyrinth (Percy Jackson & the Olympians #4) Percy Jackson and The Last Olympian (#5)
The Lost Hero The Son of Neptune       The Red Pyramid The Throne of Fire

Want to hear from the man himself? … then check out his site

http://www.rickriordan.com/home.aspx

Advertisements

9 Replies to “The Titan’s Curse (Percy Jackson #3) | Rick Riordan | YA | Book Review”

  1. Loved ‘The Lightening Thief’ and ‘The Sea Monsters’ of that series. Started ‘The Titan’s Curse’, but had to put down to concentrate on my book. Your review has sparked new interest, and will pick up the book again! Thanks, SW! I don’t know how you juggle your writing and reading time so well! Cheers!

    1. Thanks Sharon, Glad to have re-sparked your interest. I’m just trying to decide if I should move to the next Percy Jackson book or re-read the Harry Potter series. Oh the tough decisions I must make!! 🙂

I'd love to hear your thoughts about my post ... seriously!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s