The Throne of Fire (Kane Chronicles 2) | Rick Riordan | Book Review

THE THRONE OF FIRE
(KANE CHRONICLES 2)

Rick Riordan The Throne of Fire| By Rick Riordan |

| Kindle edition |
| Middle Grade / Young Adult | Fantasy |
| 465 pages |
| Released 3rd May 2011 |

 


EVER since the gods of Ancient Egypt were unleashed on the modern world, Carter Kane and his sister, Sadie, have been in big trouble.

As descendants of the magical House of Life, they command certain powers. But now a terrifying enemy – Apophis, the giant snake of chaos – is rising. If Carter and Sadie don’t destroy him, the world will end in five days’ time. And in order to battle the forces of chaos, they must revive the sun god Ra – a feat no magician has ever achieved. Because first, they must search the world for the three sections of the Book of Ra, then they have to learn how to chant its spells . . .

Can the Kanes destroy Apophis before he swallows the sun and plunges the earth into darkness . . . forever? – GOODREADS


My Review Heading

It’s been a long time since I read The Red Pyramid, which I’m sorry to say I didn’t enjoy as much as I had expected. Hence, it was quite a period of time until I decided to read this second book, Throne of Fire. I was pleased when I started reading and found that I was enjoying it more than the first. I wasn’t sure if it was because I already had knowledge of the characters, or if it was just that it was the type of book that suited me at the time. Who knows? It was enough incentive for me to continue.

RR included plenty of recaps that brought back sufficient memories of the story so far. It made it easy to catch up after such a gap in time from the first book. It was very obvious that Carter and Sadie were still learning. I liked that element of the story, it made them more real, and I really do like Sadie’s sense of humor. Even though they are on separate paths at times, it’s very clear that Sadie and Carter are there for each other.

IMO, this series is very heavy on the mythical elements, far more than I originally expected, but RR has a way of presenting it in a fun way that doesn’t bog the story down. As with all RR books, this one is quite light-hearted in places too. He has a wonderfully humorous interpretation of the twelve rooms, and who would have thought old Ra would be such a character?


In a Nutshell HeadingI felt that the Throne of Fire was a more enjoyable read than The Red Pyramid. It’s filled with that typical RR mix of mythology and humor and has perked my interest to read on to book three. I’ll try not to leave it as long before reading the next book.

Click the covers below to see my other reviews of
the Kane Chronicles series.

   

> Please click here to see my Review Policy <

Rick Riordan The Throne of Fire


Please be sure to FOLLOW MY BLOG to keep updated on when my new book, SUBWAY | PALLIATOPIA will be released.  It’s a perfect read for fans of The Hunger Games, The Maze Runner and The 5th Wave.

 SW1 BLURB FOR SITE Subway | Palliatopia


 

Advertisements

6 Replies to “The Throne of Fire (Kane Chronicles 2) | Rick Riordan | Book Review”

  1. I’m interested in your comment about recaps. Since I haven’t read either of these books, it made me wonder how much recap is generally required – how to make the balance right for those who go straight from one book to the next and those (like me) who are more likely to leave a year in between. Thanks for including it on the Kid Lit Blog Hop – I deleted your email update with a twitch of the mouse lol

    1. It’s hard to say, Jemima. I think it all depends on the reader. I know that for me, there’s almost always a gap between books in a series. So I do like to have a scattering of clues reminding me of where I’ve been.
      From an author perspective it’s a difficult balance. You don’t want to rewrite the previous book, but you want your readers to know what’s going on so they don’t get lost in the pages. For me, I try to present the backstory from a slightly different perspective to what it was in the previous books, but it is a battle to know when enough is enough.
      Perhaps we’ve uncovered something here. A one page summary of the previous book/s might be useful.

I'd love to hear your thoughts about my post ... seriously!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s