THE RED PYRAMID
(KANE CHRONICLES 1)

Rick Riordan The Red Pyramid| by Rick Riordan  |

| Kindle edition |
| Middle Grade / Young Adult | Fantasy |
| 544 pages |
| Released 16th August 2011 |

 


Since their mother’s death, Carter and Sadie have become near strangers. While Sadie has lived with her grandparents in London, her brother has traveled the world with their father, the brilliant Egyptologist, Dr. Julius Kane.

One night, Dr. Kane brings the siblings together for a “research experiment” at the British Museum, where he hopes to set things right for his family. Instead, he unleashes the Egyptian god Set, who banishes him to oblivion and forces the children to flee for their lives.

Soon, Sadie and Carter discover that the gods of Egypt are waking, and the worst of them —Set— has his sights on the Kanes. To stop him, the siblings embark on a dangerous journey across the globe – a quest that brings them ever closer to the truth about their family and their links to a secret order that has existed since the time of the pharaohs. – GOODREADS


My Review Heading

An entertaining book, with plenty of trademark PJ style mythology.

This is a series that I’ve avoided reading, due to my own Egyptian themed MG adventure books. I didn’t want to be influenced as my own series progressed. In saying that, I have finally given in to the temptation and read this first book.

So, in a nutshell, here’s the main thrust of the story. Sadie and Carter have spent much of their life on opposite sides of the world, so they aren’t your typical brother and sister. Each one thinks the other has a better life. They go on a day out with their dad and he releases ancient Egyptian gods into the present day. Everything goes terribly wrong and he ends up getting swallowed up by the floor of the British Museum. A bad day all round, for him and the kids.

Then, Sadie and Carter find out that they are descendants of the pharaohs and that’s where their real adventures begin. As the story progresses one of the most important things they learn is that they need each other, and they need to work together.

I have to say that although I knew this book contained Egyptian mythology, it was quite a bit heavier on the mythology and more Percy Jackson-like than I had expected (I’m a PJ fan). There’s a lot of back stories to take in and I have to admit that I may not have caught on to every detail that was revealed. In some parts, I thought that the kids seemed a lot older and wiser than their actual age, but this is fiction, so it’s allowed 🙂 . One thing I noticed though, was that I never really knew who to trust and found myself constantly changing my mind about some characters throughout the story.

So, by the end of the book, the journey ahead is revealed. Their ultimate destiny is to reunite the gods and magicians to stop chaos from rearing its ugly head. The journey, which includes finding other descendants of the pharaohs to help their cause, will continue in subsequent books.


In a Nutshell HeadingI liked that it kept me engaged. Overall I liked the book and will read the others in the series. This book has way more mythology-bound into the plot than my books.

Recommended.

Click the covers below to see my other reviews of
the Kane Chronicles series.

   

 

Here is The Red Pyramid (Kane Chronicles #1) book trailer.


Sneak Peek Headings

Rick Riordan The Red Pyramid


Please be sure to FOLLOW MY BLOG to keep updated on when my new book, SUBWAY | PALLIATOPIA will be released.  It’s a perfect read for fans of The Hunger Games, The Maze Runner and The 5th Wave.

 SW1 BLURB FOR SITE Subway | Palliatopia


Advertisements

2 thoughts on “The Red Pyramid (Kane Chronicles 1) | Rick Riordan | Book Review

I'd love to hear your thoughts about my post ... seriously!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s