MISS PEREGRINE’S HOME FOR PECULIAR CHILDREN

Miss Peregrine| By Ransom Riggs |
Kindle edition | Released 7 June 2011 |
| Young Adult | Fantasy 

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

 


A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows. – GOODREADS


My Review

This amazing book centres around a collection of old photos, which prove to be a tangible link to a grandfather’s life. Acting on the last words of his grandfather, Jacob embarks on a journey to discover the truth behind the stories he’d been told all his life. It’s a wonderful tale in a great setting that explores multi-generational relationships between parents and offspring.

Ransom Riggs has brought to life an eclectic group of peculiar characters who must live within a time loop that keeps them safe. Needless to say, there are forces that threaten their very existence. I was pleased to discover that the movie (by Tim Burton) is out in September, and it looks great.


In a Nutshell

An original and quirky spin on time travel with a great cast of characters. I can see why it has been so popular.

>The link to my review of Hollow City (Book 2) is here.>
> Please click here to see my Review Policy <


Great news! The movie was out in September 2016.
Here’s the trailer, it looks awesome.

PLUS … ever heard of a viral video? Well here’s one that was created for the Miss Peregrine movie. This is the short version. There’s another one that’s 10 hours long … Happy Loop Day!


More books by Ransom Riggs.

 Ransom Riggs - Miss Peregrine 2 Ransom Riggs - Miss Peregrine 3

Ransom Riggs - Miss Peregrine Graphic Ransom Riggs Ransom Riggs-Sherlock


Make sure that you FOLLOW MY BLOG to keep updated on when my new book, Subway | Palliatopia will be released.  It’s a perfect read for fans of The Hunger Games, The Maze Runner and The 5th Wave.

 SW1 BLURB FOR SITE Subway | Palliatopia

 

 

Advertisements

One thought on “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children | Ransom Riggs | YA | Book Review

I'd love to hear your thoughts about my post ... seriously!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s