HOLLOW CITY
(MISS PEREGRINE’S PECULIAR CHILDREN #2)

| By Ransom Riggs |

Kindle edition |
|Young Adult | Fantasy |

| 428 pages |

| Released 14 January 2014 |



September 3, 1940. Ten peculiar children flee an army of deadly monsters. And only one person can help them—but she’s trapped in the body of a bird.

The extraordinary journey that began in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children continues as Jacob Portman and his newfound friends journey to London, the peculiar capital of the world. There, they hope to find a cure for their beloved headmistress, Miss Peregrine. But in this war-torn city, hideous surprises lurk around every corner. And before Jacob can deliver the peculiar children to safety, he must make an important decision about his love for Emma Bloom.

Like its predecessor, this second novel in the Peculiar Children series blends thrilling fantasy with vintage photography to create a one-of-a-kind reading experience. – GOODREADS


The second book in the Miss Peregrine series was even better than the first. It’s been a while since I’ve been so impressed with a follow-up, but this one is definitely worthy of praise. The story picks up straight after book one and we are instantly on an adventure full of quirks and danger. Once again, the characters are so endearing and off-beat it’s hard to resist their innocent charm.

Having rescued Miss Peregrine, the posse of unlikely survivors set off on an adventure to save their beloved ymbryne and secure a safe future for themselves. There are lessons in here about staying strong, uniting and looking for the positive when everything seems to be against you. Everyone has their strengths, and they become even stronger when they work together.

Backed by the chaos of WW2, the Wights and Hollows are on their tail. There’s no time to relax, given that the threat to Miss Peregrine’s life grows bigger as time passes. I found the writing style was well suited to the time period, and the continued use of genuine old photographs in the story made it all seem so real. Looking at the images was like a window into the author’s mind. It must have been a huge task to sift through photos to find the perfect inspirational images.

There were some great twists that I didn’t see coming, which added another dimension of excitement to the story. I have to admit that the end of the book took me by surprise. I wasn’t ready. I wanted more, but then it was done. Fortunately book 3 is already on the shelves. It won’t be long until I grab a copy and continue this peculiar adventure.

Rasom Riggs Miss Peregrine 2


This is a wonderful follow-up to book 1 (it was even better than 1). It’s a peculiar adventure that’s irresistible. Recommended for everyone.

>My review of Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children (Book 1) is here<
> Please click here to see my Review Policy <

Click the book cover to LOOK INSIDE for a sneak peek
Click the book cover to LOOK INSIDE for a sneak peek

Happy Loop Day!


More books by Ransom Riggs.

 Ransom Riggs - Miss Peregrine 2 Ransom Riggs - Miss Peregrine 3

Ransom Riggs - Miss Peregrine Graphic Ransom Riggs Ransom Riggs-Sherlock


Make sure that you FOLLOW MY BLOG to keep updated on when my new book, Subway | Palliatopia will be released.  It’s a perfect read for fans of The Hunger Games, The Maze Runner and The 5th Wave.

 SW1 BLURB FOR SITE Subway | Palliatopia

Advertisements

I'd love to hear your thoughts about my post ... seriously!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s