Vinyl (#1) | Sophia Elaine Hanson | YA | Book Review

VINYL (The Vinyl Trilogy #1)

| By Sophia Elaine Hanson |

Kindle edition |
| Young Adult | Dystopia |
| Steampunk | Science Fiction |

| 353 pages |
| Released 27 November 2015 |

 

 

 


Legend meets Leviathan in this gritty steampunk fiction by debut author Sophia Elaine Hanson. Charged with fear, heavy with heartbreak, and stitched with unexpected moments of joy, Vinyl is perfect for fans of Cinder and Divergent.

In the heart of the once powerful nation of Arutia lies the reclusive city-state of Revinia. All citizens within its soaring black walls have metal Singers grafted into their skulls at birth. The parasitic machines issue a form of auditory hypnosis called The Music, which keeps their minds malleable and emotions flat. All artistic expression—especially real music—is strictly prohibited.

On the edge of the city, nineteen-year-old Ronja struggles to support her family. Plagued by migraines and haunted by prejudice brought on by her mother—a ‘mutt’ genetically twisted as punishment for crimes unknown—Ronja is hanging by a thread. Then, a chance meeting leads to her kidnapping by the Anthem, an underground resistance working to snuff The Music and preserve the human spirit. Violently severed from her Singer by the brash young agent Roark, Ronja revels in her newfound freedom…until she returns home to discover her family has been taken as a result of her disappearance.

The first in a trilogy, Vinyl is a story of loyalty, passion, trauma, human connection, and the extraordinary power of real music. – GOODREADS.


This book is one of those surprises that seem to pop up every so often. Believe it or not, I saw this one on a couple of Tweets and it was the cover that first hooked me. Then, I think I picked it up from a Bookbub offer. I like to mention how I heard about a book, as I know the author would love to know this info.

Right from the get-go, I was hooked with this one. I think the style of story, and the great characters were a winner. The main protagonist is, Ronja, a strong young woman who has become the breadwinner for her family. Society is very controlled and it’s not an easy life. The method of control (music) is highly original and has created a generation that knows no other way. Over time, society’s lost freedoms have become a legend that the current generation could never really expect to fully understand. But the desire to find out can only be suppressed by the music for so long.

After becoming involved in an underground resistance movement (the Anthem) things begin to ramp up. Watch out for plenty of twists that add extra layers to the plot. Ronja’s links with the Anthem trigger the capture of her family by the ruling government (The Conductor). And even though her family life has had its own challenges, she is determined to find out what happened to them. Joined by her newfound Anthem friends she sets out to save her family.

As I read, I jotted down some of the themes that came to mind. Inequality. Oppression. Violence. Spirit. Resistance. Narcissism. Power. Control. Prejudice. Sufferance. Sophia Elane Hanson has done a great job of blending all of these into a well-rounded story. It’s one of my favorite reads so far this year.


This is a great book that I’m so glad I discovered. I will definitely continue with this series and search out other books by this author. Great job. I recommend this one to Hunger Games and Maze Runner fans.

> Please click here to see my Review Policy <

Click the book cover to LOOK INSIDE for a sneak peek.
Click the book cover to LOOK INSIDE for a sneak peek.

Please be sure to FOLLOW MY BLOG to keep updated on when my new book, SUBWAY | PALLIATOPIA will be released.  It’s a perfect read for fans of The Hunger Games, The Maze Runner and The 5th Wave.

 SW1 BLURB FOR SITE 

Advertisements

I'd love to hear your thoughts about my post ... seriously!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s