Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them | J.K. Rowling | YA | Book Review


FANTASTIC BEASTS AND WHERE TO FIND THEM

jk-beasts| Original screenplay by J.K. Rowling |

Kindle edition |
| Young Adult | Fantasy |

| 293 pages |

| Released 19 November 2016 |

 

 

 


When Magizoologist Newt Scamander arrives in New York, he intends his stay to be just a brief stopover. However, when his magical case is misplaced and some of Newt’s fantastic beasts escape, it spells trouble for everyone…

Inspired by the original Hogwarts textbook by Newt Scamander, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original Screenplay marks the screenwriting debut of J.K. Rowling, author of the beloved and internationally bestselling Harry Potter books. A feat of imagination and showcasing a cast of remarkable characters, this is epic, adventure-packed storytelling at its very best. Whether an existing fan or new to the wizarding world, this is a perfect addition to any film lover’s or reader’s bookshelf. – GOODREADS


(Spoiler free)

Normally when we read a book, before or after seeing the movie, we tend to compare them and look for things that were or weren’t included. Most of the time, readers dwell on missing events or wonder what the… reason something was added or changed. The verdict is usually always – the book is better than the movie. Well, with Fantastic Beasts, none of that matters. The book is a screenplay of the movie, so it’s describing it, scene by scene, with complete accuracy.

I saw the movie on its release day, loved it and posted a review HERE. The book arrived on my iPad the same day, so it was mere days before I started reading. My verdict … I loved it just as much as the movie. Every page triggered a memory of what I’d seen. I think that having seen it first definitely made an impact on how well the screenplay came to life.

The scenes were already etched in my memory, instantly recalled as I read JK’s words. I could clearly see the expressions, the settings, and the characters. I even picked up a few details that I’d missed, but could easily recall them <with a nod … and a … oh yeah … nice.>. With the book, I have gained a new companion that lives quietly in my iPad/iPhone (just like the beasts in Newts case). It allows me to relive and remember the amazing story whenever and wherever I want.

For those of you who read the book before seeing the movie, I’m confident that JK’s writing will give you more than enough information to see it in your mind. The plot is clever, and the characters are great. Then, when you see the movie (which I’m sure you will), you’ll no doubt be captured by the incredible visual feast it delivers, and its wonderful interpretation of what you’ve already read.

beasts-giphy


The movie or the book – the winner is = both. I already know that this book will be re-read many times in the future, and I can barely wait for the next Fantastic Beasts installments from JK.

> Please click here to see my Review Policy <

Click the book cover to LOOK INSIDE for a sneak peek
Click the book cover to LOOK INSIDE for a sneak peek

See what I thought of the movie HERE.


Make sure that you FOLLOW MY BLOG to keep updated on when my new book, Subway | Palliatopia will be released.  It’s a perfect read for fans of The Hunger Games, The Maze Runner and The 5th Wave.

SW1 BLURB FOR SITE

 

Advertisements

6 thoughts on “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them | J.K. Rowling | YA | Book Review

I'd love to hear your thoughts about my post ... seriously!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s